fargo ewan mcgregor

When the third season of “Fargo” returns to FX April 19, Ewan McGregor will star as not one, but two characters on the series.

You may not recognize the “Star Wars” actor when the show airs. McGregor put on some weight and shaved his head to play brothers who couldn’t look more different.

He’s not the only actor to transform for a role. Plenty of actors have undergone extreme workouts and diets to pack on the pounds and muscle for their roles as villains, boxers, and CIA operatives.

Keep reading to see 15 actors who have gained weight for movie and TV roles.

SEE ALSO: 23 pairs of celebrities who look nearly identical

FOLLOW US: INSIDER is on Facebook

Hilary Swank gained 19 pounds of muscle for “Million Dollar Baby.”

Hilary Swank consumed 210 grams of protein every day for 90 days while training for “Million Dollar Baby.”

“My training was two and a half hours of boxing and approximately an hour and a half to two hours lifting weights every day, six days a week,” Swank told Movieweb. “The producers asked me to gain 10 pounds of muscle. I gained 19 pounds of muscle. I started at 110 and went to 129. I would drink my egg whites because I could never eat 8 to 12 egg whites in a sitting. It’s just the worst thing ever.”

Ryan Reynolds gained 25 pounds of muscle for “Blade Trinity” and kept it on for “Green Lantern.”

Reynolds’ trainer, Bobby Storm, told WebMD the star worked out 90 minutes every day for six to seven months to bulk up to 200 pounds. 

“For a romantic comedy, he needs to shrink down a bit,” said Storm. “For Blade and Green Lantern, he was 200 pounds and 8% body fat. For rom-coms [romantic comedies], he’s about 180 and 11% body fat.”

Reynolds told Men’s Fitness he gained 25 pounds of muscle for “Blade Trinity” after adhering to a 3,200-calorie daily diet and doing six-day-a-week workouts for three months.

Tom Hardy gained nearly 30 pounds to play Bane in “The Dark Knight Rises.”

Some people didn’t believe Hardy bulked up enough to play villain Bane in “The Dark Knight Rises.” Before the film’s release, some fans were slightly displeased. In the comics and animated series, Bane’s muscles are exaggerated. He’s able to lift 1,500 lbs

Hardy later told CineMovie he got up to 190 lbs and defended his weight gain to fans: 

I’m at 190[lbs]. Bat-fans want me to be over 220lbs. 400lbs. I’m like dude! Batman is like Superman, Spider-Man — he belongs to so many people. So many people love him. He belongs to them, and when you step into that kind of character, you are going to fail. And be judged. I’m human, and I do read things. I read the comments, and I cry. I can’t cry for everybody. I just give them a job, and be the best that I can be. Just trust me. I trust Nolan.

See the rest of the story at INSIDER
Source: http://www.thisisinsider.com/actors-gained-weight-for-roles-2017-4

